A Servant’s Heart: Carrie Underwood

by Kimmie

True story: I went to church with Carrie Underwood.

It was a warm, sunny Sunday at the end of July 2012. Ryan and I were still dating at the time, and we had traveled down to Nashville, TN, to visit his best friend and his best friend’s wife. They asked us if we wanted to go to GracePointe Church, and I was excited to experience some Nashville worship.

So as I sat there, surveying my surroundings, I noticed a blonde-haired woman sitting directly to my right in the next section over…and she looked awfully familiar. It took me a good minute to realize that I was staring at Carrie Underwood. (Let me tell you, she’s even more beautiful in person.)

It was a serious struggle not to run over and hug her!

I spent a good portion of church trying not to be that weirdo fawning over a celebrity, especially because no one else was nearly as excited as I was. Apparently, celebrity sightings are as common in Nashville as snow is in Rochester. (Also, I’m very uncool. VERY uncool.)

There are many reasons to love Carrie Underwood (ahem, her hair…cue all the heart eye emojis). Her music career has been wildly successful ever since her American Idol days. Her songs have been inspirational to women (and men) all across the world. And she just has this presence, this quiet calm about her. I find myself drawn to her lack of drama.

But what I really love is her beautiful, giving spirit.

She is a huge supporter of arts education and animal rights, and she is involved with multiple organizations to benefit children. The list goes on and on – you can tell that her work with all these different organizations comes from the heart.

“Everybody has the power to do something, to be a contributing force, and I would rather people look back on my life and say, ‘She made the world a better place.’ We can all do things like that, and I believe that when opportunities arise for you to do good, you should do good.” – Carrie Underwood

Most people know that she is actively involved in PETA and the Red Cross (to name a few), but I’m not sure they know how many other charities and causes she supports. I admit, I had no idea until when I looked it up. I was completely shocked to discover that it’s over 20 charities and 23 causes! She definitely has a servant’s heart.

When I think of Carrie and her contributions, the Book of Galatians comes to mind:

“For you were called to freedom, brothers. Only do not use your freedom as an opportunity for the flesh, but through love serve one another.” – Galatians 5:13

I love this verse because it reminds me of how Jesus gave Himself so selflessly and so perfectly. He chose to give Himself to charitable works: US — you and me.

He died on the Cross for our fleshly desires and our sins, to cleanse us and forgive us. And He calls us to love one another; to use our freedoms like money and influence and giftings for good instead of selfish desires. How wonderful would this world be if we served others instead of just serving ourselves?

We may not be as rich, as beautiful, or as influential as Carrie, but we can certainly learn from her example.

  • We can donate to charities that we believe in and support.
  • We can volunteer our time at different organizations across our areas who could use a helping hand.
  • We can bring awareness to causes who need a mouthpiece.

No matter how small or insignificant our contributions may seem, they will matter to somebody. This world needs more people with servant’s hearts.

If I ever cross paths with Carrie again, I hope I will have the courage to tell her how much her charitable works mean to the Kingdom, and to thank her for being a great role model to women around the globe.

And then I might ask her for a selfie…

[This is the conclusion of our March series, honoring the women in our lives. Have you taken a moment to thank the women who have made a difference in your life? If not, find some time this weekend to do just that! <3]

Kimmie Plummer wants other women to know they are not alone. Her life is perfectly imperfect, filled with coffee and a whole lot of Jesus. She spends most of her days with her best friend & husband, Ryan, and their sweet little boy, Everett, playing with trucks and singing her best impressions of Elmo. When she’s not singing (off-key) and playing trucks, you can find her at Target, trying not to buy the whole store. Follow her on Instagram at @kplummahhh.

Read more articles like this:

Leave a Reply

