Making Head Knowledge Heart Knowledge

by Kimmie Plummer

I have to admit, this was a hard blog post for me to write because this is something I struggle with ALL.THE.TIME. I rewrote my words too many times, hoping that I could eloquently convey my message. Instead, I am afraid this will be raw, rough, and entirely too honest.

For as long as I can remember, I have been an over-analyzer. I have to think things through over and over and over again, hoping to glean just a bit more information.

It’s like, I know in my head that I’m a daughter of God, but my heart keeps asking:

I know that I am at a healthy weight, but why don’t I fit into size 2 jeans?

I feel pretty today, but why don’t I look like her?

I am a good person, but why don’t I like myself today?

I am trying so hard, but why is it never enough? 

I know I am strong, so why do I let others tear me down?

It’s a vicious cycle, creating self-doubt and leaving our hearts hungry and lonely.

It is so important to stop this cycle.

We are not defined by body image, intelligence, or “good deeds.” We are God’s children; the beautiful, glorious children that He created.

And He desperately wants us to turn to Him when our hearts ache to recognize what our heads already know. 

When you find yourself struggling, reach out to your Heavenly Father and repeat His words instead of your own.

Instead of over-thinking that mistake you made, repeat a Scripture verse like 2 Corinthians 5:17: “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!” Speak His truth over yourself. (Try praying Psalm 139, like this!)

For the word of God is living and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the division of soul and spirit, and of joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart. - Hebrews 4:12

Allow His presence to fill your heart in the way that only He can.

This may take some time. We have to actually quiet our hearts and sometimes that means stealing a few minutes away with Him. Give yourself that time. Go be with the Lord, even as Mary sat at His feet in Luke 10, and let His peace fill your heart.

Be still, and know that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth! - Psalm 46:10

Let His Word and His presence bring what you know in your head all the way down to your heart. 

Let go of your trust issues. You don’t have to trust yourself; instead, trust in God. We cannot save ourselves, so let God be your Savior. His redeeming love is all that we will ever need.

Sin was strong

But Jesus is stronger

Our shame was great

But Jesus You're greater ("Raised to Life" - Elevation Worship)

img_2057Kimmie Plummer wants other women to know they are not alone. Her life is perfectly imperfect, filled with coffee and a whole lot of Jesus. She spends most of her days with her best friend & husband, Ryan, and their sweet little boy, Everett, playing with trucks and singing her best impressions of Elmo. When she’s not singing (off-key) and playing trucks, you can find her at Target, trying not to buy the whole store. Follow her on Instagram at @kplummahhh.

To read more on this topic of making head knowledge heart knowledge, check out these blogs & videos:

Comment below: What helps you make head knowledge into heart knowledge?

Leave a Reply

