Fresh Starts Come More Than Once a Year

by Julia Robison

THREE…

TWO…

ONE…

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

I got back to my house right before the ball dropped, and my dad had the great idea of toasting the new year with orange juice! Whatever you toasted this New Year, let’s have our first candid conversation of 2017. Oh, and by the way, Happy New Year!!

screen-shot-2017-01-09-at-4-15-17-pm
First, let me introduce myself:
Hi! My name is Julia. I am an ordinary girl loving and serving an extraordinary God. I am a sophomore psychology student in sunny southern California, trying to balance my desire to study with my desire to go to the beach! I am a lover of doughnuts, all things peanut butter, sunsets, and great conversations over beautiful cups of coffee. I’m excited to walk this crazy jorney called life together with you!

 

So, wow, I love the new year and its promise of a fresh start:

  • brand new music coming from favorite artists,
  • new hair styles (cause you know — new year, new hair),
  • and so many donuts yet to be eaten!

Many people see fresh starts as a chance to become who they’ve always wanted to be, which is why many make “new year’s resolutions.” Whether our resolution is to work out 4 times a week, drink less coffee (or more coffee), or wake up earlier, we want to make a change.

I, however, am not someone who can stick to a resolution.

Honestly, I end up forgetting I ever made it, or giving up two months in… which led to a personal “revolution” (if you will) about new beginnings. It all started during finals week in December…

<< Cue Backstory >>

l8snwgunqbu-gaelle-marcel.jpgWe’ve all had challenging classes. We do the reading, study our brains out, and pay attention during class, and yet we still have a hard time with the material. My most challenging class last semester was called “Clinical and Community Interventions.” And yes, the class was just as difficult as you might imagine.

The final approached, and let me tell you, I probably put in 15 hours of study, knowing I was on the edge of getting a better grade if I could do well on the exam. I did all I could.

After the test, I swear I almost cried. A lot of the questions were not on the study guide, and things were worded very differently than how we learned them. I felt defeated, but still had two more exams to prepare for. So, like any other student, I took a nap, and then kept studying.

The next day I had this realization: Yes, I was defeated by my exam, but right now — today — is a new day, and a new chance to go and rock the next exam. 

Then I realized that a relationship with the Lord is just like that. 

He promises in Lamentations 3:22-23: “The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; His mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is Your faithfulness.” 

I love the promise of a new year and all that comes with it, but I also think that every day is a new start for us.

There are so many days when I wake up and realize that I am far from where the Lord wants me. Other days I wake up feeling funky after something I did the previous day. But God promises that we get His new mercies every day.

lkni1rmhyjs-anatol-lem.jpg

I would even argue that His mercies are new every moment of every day.

I think whenever we acknowledge that something is out of place, we get a new start. There is something so beautiful in that promise.

I would challenge you (and myself) to start this year with the knowledge that just because something has gone wrong, or you have messed up, does not disqualify you from a fresh start every single day. So walk in the knowledge that you are forgiven, redeemed, accepted, and loved — because you are all that and more.

 

Screen Shot 2017-01-10 at 12.19.39 PM.pngJulia Robison is an ordinary girl loving and serving an extraordinary God. She is a sophomore psychology student in sunny southern California, trying to balance her desire to study with her desire to go to the beach. She is a lover of doughnuts, all things peanut butter, sunsets, and great conversations over beautiful cups of coffee. Follow Julia’s personal blog here, as well as her instagram: @julia _ _ robison.

Leave a Reply

