He doesn’t compare you like you compare you

If making comparisons was an Olympic sport, I would win. Because I’m a pro at comparing myself to others; it just comes naturally.

Many times I see another girl and think, “She’s so much prettier than me.” Or, “She’s way more talented than me.” (Although the comparisons can also come in the form of, “I’m so much better than her.” Different sound; same thing. Still comparing myself.)

A couple weeks ago I was about to speak at an event. I had loved my outfit when I left home, but after a three-hour drive, it looked TERRIBLE. I felt so old-looking and out of touch with fashion.

Of course I kept comparing myself to my friend and traveling buddy. She looked so gorgeous and trendy in her amazing outfit — like she should have been the one speaking that night; not me.

And my jealousy really started to eat away at me.

Shortly before the service started, I excused myself to go to the bathroom, and lingered there, praying about these feelings.

“She’s so much prettier, God,” I prayed, eyes moist. “Why can’t I be pretty too? And her outfit is way better. I look ridiculous. No one’s even going to listen to me. So? What do you think about all this?”

And here’s what I felt God impressed on my heart:

“I don’t compare you to other people.”

I didn’t expect Him to put anything on my heart (oh me of little faith)…much less something so…so…perfect.

That doesn’t mean we’re all the same to Him; it’s just that He’s not wishing I was like my friend or my friend was like me.

I felt that He was showing me that He made each of us exactly how He wanted us to be.

He wasn’t looking my friend, thinking, “Man, look at her! She really turned out way better than Tiffany when I knit her together in her mom’s womb. Wow, thumbs up on that one, Jesus!”

No, instead, He loves how He made each of us.

It reminds me of Psalm 139:13-14:

For You formed my inward parts;
You covered me in my mother’s womb.
I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
Marvelous are Your works,
And that my soul knows very well.

And also 1 Corinthians 12:15-19:

15 If the foot should say, “Because I am not a hand, I am not of the body,” is it therefore not of the body? 16 And if the ear should say, “Because I am not an eye, I am not of the body,” is it therefore not of the body? 17 If the whole body were an eye, where would be the hearing? If the whole were hearing, where would be the smelling? 18 But now God has set the members, each one of them, in the body just as He pleased. 19 And if they were all one member, where would the body be?

When I choose to see myself with this perspective, I see myself in a kinder way. 

When I’m tempted to compare myself to others, either thinking I’m worse or better than them…I need to remember:

God isn’t comparing us. He loves how He made each of us.

I found this little cartoon at www.myrkothum.com, which I think sums this up perfectly:

stop-comparing-comic2

Leave a Reply

