I know why the caged bird sings (guest post)

Today, I have the honor of sharing a guest blog post from my mom!! Ever since I was a little girl, she’s immersed herself in studying the Scriptures and journaling her insights and all she learns. Recently she wrote one such study up into a blog post on her blog site (which you can visit here), and I loved it so much that I asked if I could share it here as well. So without further ado, here it is:

I know why the caged bird sings

by Pati Robison

“Let those who love the Lord hate evil,

for He guards the lives of His faithful ones

and delivers them from the hand of the wicked.

Light is shed upon the righteous

and joy on the upright in heart.”

(Psalm 97:10-11, NIV)

This is my year of psalms.

Reading, learning, memorizing. Sometimes I even create a picture in my mind to help me remember certain verses.

 When I got to Psalm 97:10, I imagined a cage: beautiful, like a birdcage, only larger. The faithful ones were inside the cage. (I thought of myself being inside the cage, even though I surely am not consistently faithful.)

 Why wasn’t the “hand of the wicked” in the cage? At that moment, it only occurred to me that “the hand of the wicked” existed outside the cage, and was probably pounding on the bars. The cage provided deliverance.

 A few weeks later, I came back to these verses, considering how they flowed and fit together. What was the connection in the mind of the psalmist? Would light be shed upon the righteous while they were in the cage, behind bars?

 Without a conscious thought, the cage enlarged in my mind. The bars were now far removed, barely perceptible.

They were meant for protection, not restriction.

 Another verse came to mind:

 “Lord you have assigned me my portion and my cup;

you have made my lot secure.

The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places;

surely I have a delightful inheritance.”

(Psalm 16:5-6)

Like the protective cage, life in Christ looks small from the outside — constraining and prohibitive. But as I enter the cage, trusting His judgment, His ways, and His love, I am clothed in His righteousness.

 And light is shed on the righteous: light brighter than the noonday sun, brighter than the absolute brightness of stars. The light of Christ. The peace of Christ — His shalom.

 Inside the protective bars of deliverance exists a boundless realm of joy.

It widens and deepens as I explore delights, treasures, and adventures awaiting me. I once was blind, now I see. Oh, taste and see that the Lord is good!

2 thoughts on “I know why the caged bird sings (guest post)

Leave a Reply

