And I will look up

I’ve been stuck on this Psalm; caught on it each day. It’s simple truth feels deeply profound to me:

My voice You shall hear in the morning, O Lord;
In the morning I will direct it to You,
And I will look up.

-Psalm 5:3

And I will look up.

There are so many places I could look…but I will look up.

This is so important for me, especially in the morning. From the minute my brain turns on, it starts running in 50 different directions. I could so easily:

  • Look to myself, hoping I’ll come up with the answers; holding onto my selfishness, insecurities, or pride.
  • Look to the future, worrying about the unknown or excessively planning (as I’m prone to do) for every possible scenario.
  • Look to others, trying to find confidence, identity, and fullness in the wonderful relationships around me, but putting too much pressure on those people — pressure they can never live up to.

Or…I could look up.

I could consciously choose to look up to my Savior, to my Father. To the only One who can satisfy. To the One who holds the future in His hands. To the One who has all the answers. To the One who leads as I follow.

In the morning, I will look up.

I lift up my eyes to the hills.
    From where does my help come?
My help comes from the Lord,
    who made heaven and earth.

He will not let your foot be moved;
    he who keeps you will not slumber.
Behold, he who keeps Israel
    will neither slumber nor sleep.

The Lord is your keeper;
    the Lord is your shade on your right hand.
The sun shall not strike you by day,
    nor the moon by night.

The Lord will keep you from all evil;
    he will keep your life.
The Lord will keep
    your going out and your coming in
    from this time forth and forevermore.

– Psalm 121

Leave a Reply

