How do I know someone’s the one?

This is the question that plagued me all through high school, college, and my early 20s: How will I know if someone is the one I want to spend my life with? 

I thought it would be a gut feeling. I thought that somewhere deep inside, my heart would immediately know when I met “the one.”

And that did happen for me. Three different times. With three different guys. And sadly, none of them were my husband James!

In fact, when James and I started dating, my heart initially thought he wasn’t “the one.” And that made me wonder: Am I putting too much pressure on myself, thinking I can figure out immediately if someone is right for me?

Maybe the things that help you decide you want to spend your life with someone are things that can only be discovered over time.

Here’s a new video blog about those very questions. It shares the things that helped me decide I wanted to marry James…and I’m so glad I did.

Granted, I’ve only been married eight months, so thirty years from now I’m sure I’ll have way, way more insight into this question than I do now. But right here and right now…this is how I knew I wanted James to be “my one.”

(Note: If you want to read even more about this question, click here for another blog post I wrote several months ago: How do I know if someone is the one?)

 

Leave a Reply

