The Recipe Binder (and 8 of our favorite meals)

The most surprising part of my marriage thus far has been the advent of Tiffany-the-Cook. Everyone (including myself) was convinced that my husband James would be the family chef, because this girl couldn’t even cook eggs.

When my sister gave me a perfectly inspiring recipe binder, for all the recipes I received at my bridal showers, no one suspected it’d get much use. (Except from James, perhaps.)

But now? I. Am. Obsessed.

I text my sister every other day saying how much I love the recipe binder! And then whenever I need to de-stress, I spend an hour sorting through it and organizing. (Perhaps that’s because I love spreadsheets, and this binder is like an attractive-looking, tactile version of one.)

For some reason, the past few months of being married have changed something in me, and I love meal planning and cooking! (Maybe it’s the challenge of cooking healthy, gluten-free foods on a budget…or maybe it’s the creativity it unleashes within me.)

I’ve been slowly trying out the recipes I received at my shower, along with recipes I find on Pinterest. Only the ones James and I really love are upgraded to the recipe binder.

We haven’t gotten through nearly all the recipes yet, but here are a few of our favorites thus far:

8 Favorite Recipes:

(Click on the links for the full recipes.)

Crockpot Chicken with Apple and Sweet Potato

We make a side of black rice to accompany this, and it’s delicious! I must warn you that when following the recipe, the chicken tastes dry. Last time I changed it up — instead of applesauce, I diced two apples and included those with a cup of water. The chicken was SO much more moist!

Shepherd’s Pie with Whipped Sweet Potatoes

We took this from a few different Pinterest recipes and made it our own. We add lots of extra veggies to the shepherd’s pie recipe and skip the Worcestershire sauce (simply because I don’t have any), and then top it with sweet potatoes, which we whip with butter, heavy cream, nutmeg, cinnamon, and salt. SO GOOD.

We also love doing a simple dinner of those whipped sweet potatoes with a side of sauteed veggies and ground beef.

Of course, I can’t seem to find the original whipped sweet potato recipe, but we stuff our Vitamix blender with 6 sweet potatoes (boiled until soft), 3 T. butter (melted), 1/4 C. heavy cream, and 1 tsp. of each: sea salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Blend until desired consistency. A-M-A-Z-I-N-G.

Greek Quinoa and Avacado Salad

This was a huge hit, and surprisingly filling!

Lasagna Soup

Which we made with gluten free, brown rice elbow noodles. I also mixed the ricotta cheese portion into each bowl of soup. Not particularly healthy, but amazing regardless!

Skinny Mousaka

One week our Field Goods bag (don’t even get me started on the wonderful-ness of Field Goods!) contained eggplants, so in my quest for eggplant recipes I found this…and it’s SO GOOD and surprisingly easier than I thought!

Good Ole Rice and Beans

This is a staple in our house. We cook up some black rice (it’s a compromise — I hate brown rice and James hates white rice, but we both love black rice), while in another pan sauteeing zucchini, onion, garlic, red or orange peppers, and broccoli (or whatever veggies we have). Sometimes we add in tomatoes and/or spinach at the end. I also use oregano, salt, pepper, and basil as I’m sauteeing the vegetables. I add in black beans at the end and continue cooking until they’re hot. Then we mix it all in with the rice and some shredded cheddar cheese! SO yum, SO easy, and SO healthy. I love it!!

Beet-Turnip Burritos

This comes from my mom’s kitchen. Shred up some beets and turnips, and sautee them in some salt, pepper, basil, and oregano (my spices of choice). Then put them with warmed black beans and cheese on warmed corn tortillas. Flavorful and delicious! It’s good with a side of diced zucchini and frozen corn sauteed together with cheese. (Also my mom’s recipe.)

Butternut Squash (…and carrot…and apple) Soup

I love this recipe!! – particularly how many veggies it includes. I usually make it with two apples instead of one. Last time I made it, my friend and I experimented by adding in cooked maple bacon (crumbled) at the end, and stirring some plain goat cheese into each of our individual bowls. FABULOUS! (I haven’t made the chickpea topping, but it sounds good!)

I hope you enjoy some of these as much as we do! Have any favorite recipes of your own you want to share? Do tell in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “The Recipe Binder (and 8 of our favorite meals)

Leave a Reply

