Princess on a Mission (by Livy Lynn)

PossibleCover3

People will roll their eyes and say, “How are you going to change the world by following God’s ways?” Sister, do not listen to those voices. Hold fast and steady…you never know how many little eyes are watching you in awestruck wonderment thinking: “Wow. She is so beautiful. She loves God so much…I want to be just like her someday.”

Today’s post is brought to you by Livy Lynn, from Crown of Beauty Magazine, and editor/compiler of the brand-new book “Beauty, Boys, and Ball Gowns” (and she was kind enough to let me share my story in that book!).

What if I told you that you have been created, chosen, and commissioned

to go change this world as we know it?

“Change the world” has become a cliché phrase, tossed around in church, on TV, in girl power pop-anthems, and on social media. It has a certain ring to it, but if we’re honest, we’ve heard these words so much that our hearts have become slightly desensitized to the sheer thrill of the raging battle cry behind them. 

I am about to hand you a secret strategy that will enable you to powerfully penetrate the evil in this world. This strategy is so simple it can be tempting to say, “That’s it? I don’t get it. What’s so powerful about this?”

“Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as elaborate hairstyles and the wearing of gold jewelry or fine clothes. Rather, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight,” 1 Peter 3:3.

That is not the kind of beauty celebrated in the earth today.

Tragically, most magazine covers and TV shows do not celebrate women of virtue. In our Hollywood-saturated culture, we choose who is celebrated. We crown them as queens and dub them “celebrities.” Trendy outfits, catchy pop-songs, and push-up bras…that’s what is being celebrated.

Meanwhile, our little-sister generation is attempting to emulate these highly celebrated figures of pop-royalty. They want to wear the same clothes as them, sing their songs, and act like they do.

We’ve all seen this kind of behavior coming from the little girls in our lives. Whether they are obsessed with Hannah Montana, or Queen Elsa from Disney’s “Frozen,” little girls love to copy what they see in the older women around them! This is a totally natural, God-given desire in little ones. In fact, Titus 2 instructs the “older women, [to] teach the younger women.”

This can be a wonderful thing, but this can also be a bit of a nightmare.

BookQuote3Who is telling these girls what is beautiful? Who decides who will be celebrated and what “cool” is?

I used to be one of those wide-eyed little girls, striving to become like my “cool big sisters” in Hollywood. I can only imagine how much I freaked out my poor mother when I came running out into the living room as an 8-year-old with my t-shirt rolled up, showing off my belly button, and preppy pig-tails in my hair. I wiggled my hips around and said, “Look Mama! I’m Brittany Spears!”

Little girls just want to be like their babysitters, their cool big sisters, and the teen-pop icons they see on TV. Sadly, the “babysitters” on TV and in the media are teaching our little sisters what being a girl is all about…and those messages are not advancing the Kingdom of God!

In 1 Peter 3, the Holy Spirit reveals powerful secrets of His Kingdom strategy, showing us what we can do to be PRO-active. God does not desire for our little sisters to be sucked into a selfish, cruel, lying, manipulating culture.

Thankfully, there is a flip-side to every coin!

In the same way that little girls want to run around and emulate their favorite girls on TV, they also desire to emulate US.

That’s right…I’m talking about YOU!

Imperfect you. Messy hair, acne, battle scars, and all!

You, as a princess, have been entrusted with an incredible sphere of influence.

Just like Eve, you’ve been given a garden, a place of influence that is yours to cherish and maintain and be responsible for. It is your job to make sure the serpent of deception stays OUT of your garden. Don’t let the cunning snake mess with your little sisters!

The strategy of 1 Peter 3:3 is just like what Jesus did when He came to this earth. He dressed Himself in the garments of humility and did things so backwards and upside down! He positioned Himself to be the exact opposite of everything this world is all about.

  • The world says a woman’s beauty comes from the outside. God says it comes from the inside.
  • The world says a woman’s utmost concern should be looking out for herself. God says her highest concern should be living selflessly, defending and protecting, uplifting and cherishing those around her.
  • The world will consume. We will give.
  • The world will be jealous and tear apart their sisters. We will build one another up in love.
  • The world will say it’s so hopeless. We will say saving one life is totally worth it.
  • The world says to freak out and worry. We have absolute peace.
  • The world says one human is worth less than another. We will declare that each life was worth the blood of Jesus. 

BookQuote4This pattern of backwards, upside down, inside out living is like swimming upstream. It is not easy. But when we submit to God, declare His Words and His ways to be true as gold, setting an example for our little sisters, it is just like what Jesus did. It is the secret weapon of humility. If we can do this, we will be like dynamite in the hand of our God!

1 Peter 3:5 continues, “For this is the way the holy women of the past who put their hope in God used to adorn themselves. They submitted themselves to their own husbands, like Sarah, who obeyed Abraham and called him her lord. You are her daughters if you do what is right and do not give way to fear.”

Isn’t that interesting, that Peter stresses, “do not give way to fear.” Why? Because this kind of 1 Peter 3:3 Princess-Living doesn’t work if our knees collapse in fear.

Sometimes we act out of fear and insecurity thinking, “If I wait, I will never find my Prince Charming…I’m getting old. I need to make it happen. I need to help him along, I need to give him a hint. I need to wear more revealing clothes so I get more attention.”

Or we battle thoughts like this:

  • I need to ignore the smelly kid by the trash cans, because I might lose some good friendships if they see me with him.
  • I need to buy myself a new pair of jeans, instead of feeding a child in Africa, because I’ll look so uncool if I only have three pairs, when all my friends have like twenty.
  • I need to do what everyone else wants me to do with my life, instead of following my God-given dreams, because I’m so afraid of what might happen.
  • I can’t witness to my friends, because they might hate me.
  • I can’t wear a modest bathing suit to the pool, because my friends will laugh at me.
  • I just can’t wait for my future husband, because I feel like he’s never coming.

What do these words sound like?

F-E-A-R.

The princess mindset is total abandonment of the world’s ways and believing that He, whose name is Faithful and True, is writing beautiful story for you. 

I envision this secret, quiet, backwards, princess living to be a lot like what happened in The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian.

Aslan, the powerful lion, gave Lucy a little dagger. She gasped and said, “I don’t know if I’d ever be brave enough to use it.”

It was a small tool, really, maybe enough to kill a mouse, but certainly not an army of bad guys who came storming toward her on horseback. But little Lucy reached for her dagger, and held it out, as if it was a powerful weapon.

The men came barreling forward, hoof-beats pounding. She cringed, wanting to run, thinking about what might happen if the dagger doesn’t work. What if the men run her over? She was so, so tiny.

But suddenly, at the most critical moment, Aslan came flying into action. His love saved the day. Aslan devoured them in the blink of an eye. Suddenly, the danger was no more. I think of little Lucy, and how silly and nonsensical she looked, holding out her dagger even though a battle was raging around her. 

That’s what it looks like for us being 1 Peter 3:3 girls…people will roll their eyes and say, “How are you going to change the world by following God’s ways? Dressing modestly? Submitting to your God? Choosing not to worry? What’s that going to do?”

Sister, do not listen to those voices. Simply hold out your dagger of faith and purity and say, “The Lord will perfect that which concerns me.” Psalm 138:8.

Princess, hold fast and steady…you never know how many little eyes are watching you in awestruck wonderment thinking:
 
“Wow. She is so beautiful. She loves God so much…I want to be just like her someday.”

About the Author:

PossibleCover3Livy Lynn is a dreamer, singer, songwriter and orphan advocate. As the founder of Crown of Beauty Magazine, she strives to reach young women and inspire them to realize their true worth in Christ. Check out Crown of Beauty’s brand new book, “Beauty Boys and Ball Gowns” (which features advice from some amazing princess role models, like Moriah Peters, Kari Jobe, Jill Duggar Dillard, and your very own, Tiffany Dawn!) & come connect at crownofbeautymagazine.com.
Leave a Reply

