“God loved me enough to supersize me”: A story of bullying, healing, and forgiveness

“God loved me enough to supersize me”

– by Callie Christine DuPree –

Before I get into my story, I just want to let you know that you are very beautiful no matter what other people say.

I grew up struggling with body image. I got called basically all the mean and ugly names out there. Everybody looked only at my outer appearance, instead of my inner appearance. They were so hurtful to me, just because I wasn’t the skinniest girl in school.

They would call me fat … or earthquake … and names like that. 

After I finished middle school, I was so fed up with getting hurt by others, that I went to my room and burst into tears. I started asking God why was this happening to me:

Why do people have to be so hurtful? 

Why can’t I be skinny and pretty like all the other girls?

And I heard Him tell me:

“Don’t worry about what others say about you, because you are very beautiful. I created you the way that I wanted you to be, not how others wanted you to be. I love you more than anything in this world.” 

Starting my freshman year, my life changed big time. It didn’t hurt me when other people called me names. There would be times that I would tell people, “At least God loved me enough to super size me.”

Thinking that God loved me enough to super size me has helped me get where I am today. 

A kid at school told me that he was going to start picking on my brother, because he got mad that the things he said didn’t bother me anymore.

My life is better now.

I know this might sound crazy, but I don’t know what I would do without some of the people that have hurt me. 

They helped me get where I am today, and I thank God every day for the people in my life, both those that hurt me and those that love me.

What helped me be so thankful for the people that have hurt me, was because I realized they had helped me grow closer to God, when I prayed to God at the end of my middle school years. I noticed (and so did others) that I prayed more and opened up my Bible more.

I love who I’ve become! ❤

Some Bible verses that have helped me are:

  • Psalms 139:14 You are fearfully and wonderfully made.
  • Genesis 1:27 God created you in his own image.
  • Jeremiah 29:11 He knows the plans he has for you.
  • Ephesians 4:24 Created in his likeness.
  • 1 Peter 2:9-10 9 But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation,God’s special possession, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light. 10 Once you were not a people, but now you are the people of God; once you had not received mercy, but now you have received mercy.

Do you have a story like Callie’s? What has helped you get through? 

Callie, I absolutely love your story. It touched my heart. Hearing you say that you are thankful for those who hurt you, blew me away. The fact that you love who you’ve become while still in high school is astounding to me. Praise God for what He’s doing in your life! Love, Tiffany

One thought on ““God loved me enough to supersize me”: A story of bullying, healing, and forgiveness

Leave a Reply

