Changing the World by Living — by James (Part 2/3 of New Years Series)

I had a refreshing lesson earlier this week while reading the genealogies in the beginning of 1 Chronicles. That’s right. I actually learned something from reading a genealogy. As I went down the long list of ancestors of David and other people we’ve read of in the Bible, a thought struck me: All that is remembered is that this man was somebody’s son and then somebody’s father. By simply living, he accomplished God’s purpose, and made it possible for David and eventually Jesus to be born.

Today’s post is written by James from Schenectady himself:

“Changing the World by Living.”

Skype Date

Sometimes my heart feels stretched and torn by my desire for significance. I want to do significant things – with “significant” being a nebulous state that involves lots of money and lots of people knowing who you are and being in AWE of what you have accomplished. So pretty much like we should view God. Oops – it doesn’t feel so much like idolatry when I don’t have to write it down …

I had a refreshing lesson earlier this week while reading the genealogies in the beginning of 1 Chronicles. That’s right. I actually learned something from reading a genealogy. As I went down the long list of ancestors of David and other people we’ve read of in the Bible, a thought struck me:

These people probably experienced the same joys, pains, temptations, and blessings that most people experience. But all that is remembered is that this man was somebody’s son and then somebody’s father.

The contribution of each man was that he lived.

That is all.

He lived.

I’ll say it one more time, just to make sure you understand what I’m saying. All he did that was remembered…was that he lived. Yet by simply living, he accomplished God’s purpose, and made it possible for David and eventually Jesus to be born.

God showed me, in my time with Him over this genealogy, that He does not need everyone to accomplish something that other people think is “significant.” If we’re really honest about what we know about God from the Bible, he doesn’t need any of us to do anything. The pressure is off.

We can just live our lives for Him, and He is able to be glorified by whatever comes about.

Click here for New Year’s Blog Part 1/3: “James from Schenectady.”

Click here for New Year’s Blog Part 3/3: “Christ in Me.”

Leave a Reply

