Father-Daughter Adventures: Week 1 of Tour

I’ve spent the past week traipsing around New England — Maine, Vermont, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, and now Rhode Island. Autumn is bursting into glory as I start on Tour #3. And I have to share how my heart is bursting too, because of two things God has been teaching me:

1) This tour is simply an adventure with Him, and its goal is to come closer to Him.

Whenever I start thinking about this tour as if it’s all about speaking (i.e. a “speaking venture” or even “ministry”), I get all flustered and overwhelmed, and start thinking, “What the heck am I doing? Who do I think I am? I can’t do this! I’m so far out of my league! What if I fail? What if I can’t do this? I can’t do this!”

But the past few days, when I start freaking out, I’ve been learning to stop and remember: “Wait. This tour isn’t about speaking; it’s all about going on an adventure with God! It’s another Father-daughter journey together. The goal isn’t to see how many places I can speak; it’s to spend quality time with Him, and get to know Him more.” And when I think about it that way, I’m filled with peace, joy, and excitement!

When I told my mom this, she said, “Isn’t that how all our lives are?” Each of us has a unique adventure we’re living with God, and our adventures all look different from each other, but they’re all the same thing: an adventure with God, heading closer to Him.

2) Speaking with God, is like playing piano with a master pianist.

When I go to speak somewhere, it’s like I’m a 3-year-old kid who’s sitting down beside a concert master to play the tiniest piece of this gorgeous duet. Whether or not I make a mistake isn’t a big deal, because all pressure to make the piece sound good falls on the master. He’s going to weave the piece skillfully together into something beautiful, and I just get the incredible opportunity to play with Him!

And yes, He’ll teach me how to become a better pianist, but ultimately He’s in no hurry, because what He wants to teach me more than anything is how to play WITH HIM.

After all, even if I became the best pianist (or, speaker in my case) in this world, I’d still be speaking like a 3-year-old when compared with my Teacher.

The pressure that has fallen off my shoulders as God teaches me these two things, is incredible.

father-daughter

Leave a Reply

