In Memory of Maya

Image

Looking back on my struggles with body image and disordered eating, this quote stands out as one that put all of life into perspective. This quote spoke to all the ways I was striving to be enough, and helped me step back and realize what was truly important. This quote was by an incredible woman named Maya Angelou:

“People will forget what you said.

People will forget what you did.

But people will never forget how you made them feel.”

As I shared in my story, The Insatiable Quest for Beauty, I slowly began to think of that beautiful quote in this way: People will forget what you looked like, people will forget what you wore, but people will never forget how you made them feel. So if you want to be unforgettable, love passionately, care unconditionally, and serve selflessly.

That idea impacted my life deeply. Instead of a focus on looking perfect or sounding intelligent, I need to LOVE. How easily I forget.

Here are a couple other favorites of Maya Angelou’s:

“The desire to reach for the stars is ambitious. The desire to reach hearts is wise.”

How many times do we choose ambition over people? I know, as a goal-oriented, workaholic person, that I easily do. That’s only ambitious. It’s reaching hearts that is wise.

“A bird doesn’t sing because it has an answer. It sings because it has a song.”

Sometimes I forget to let my heart sing, not because I have everything figured out, but just to let the song out of me.

Thank you, Maya, for so poignantly speaking to the human heart and inspiring people around the world with your life!

Leave a Reply

