Making Friends with Time

This beautiful post is by my traveling buddy Jen Moffit:

I had no idea what to expect when I embarked on this journey with Tiffany.

I didn’t even want to come, but God knew that I needed to. So I said yes, and I opened by heart and mind to whatever He would have for me.

Many people on this trip have shared with me that God put an image of a clock on their hearts for me.

Time has rarely been my friend.

I am not a patient person. I want what I want and I want it now! I don’t like online shopping because it takes too long to have it shipped! But you know what happens in waiting for that gorgeous J. Cresweater_box_harticle_embedw sweater to arrive on my doorstep: anticipation grows. I’m giving the mailman the third degree everyday about my package. And everyday he says, “Not yet Ms. Moffit.”

Until that lovely day when the sun is shining and the birds are singing and my package is here!

I tear the box open and the sweater is so soft and smells so good and I just wanna wear it everyday for the rest of eternity!

 

And I think that’s how God does gifts in our lives.

I don’t want to wait for the gift. But in that waiting God draws me close to Him. He teaches me about His character, and in knowing Him He heals me. He prepares me to fit into that sweater! And something I’ve learned recently – the process of waiting really isn’t about me at all. It’s about knowing Him.

Mother Teresa said the greatest humiliation is to know that you are nothing. Humility and grace in this life comes when we realize that this life is not about us.

We were in the top of the famous arch in St. Louis (who knew you could ride up there!), and I just kept marveling at how small everyone looked on the ground. Like tiny little ants just roaming around.

In that moment, all of my worries seemed so frivolous, so small in the scheme of the world.

Yet how kind of the Creator of this great big Earth to want to know us, and to care about our hearts. To long for us to share our burdens with Him, so he can take them and carry us into freedom.

His kindness towards His daughter is overwhelming. He took all my brokenness and inadequacy and anxiety and whispered of His nearness.

He said, “I know, Jen. And we’re going to do this together. And I’m going to get the glory for this restored life.’”

So I’m learning to not be afraid of the waiting. I delight in the times where knowing God is the only thing that fulfills; where I take my eyes off my circumstances and turn them to the God who gathers the sea into jars and holds my life in His hands.

How completely satisfying to turn from our limitations to a God who has none. – A.W. Tozer

 

Leave a Reply

