Part 5: The Divine Exchange

[This is the final part of a blog series on Identity. Click here to view the previews portions: Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, and Part 4.]

It’s hard to believe the truth of what God says about us when we are surrounded by lies day after day. These are some of the lies I’ve believed about myself, and the truth He’s shown me, as revealed in His word. Have anything to add to this list? Leave a comment with it! 🙂

Divine Exchange by Amy Pape

My Fading Lies

His Healing Truths

What went wrong with my body? Why do I not look like _______? Was I an accident? I painstakingly knit you together in your mother’s womb. You are fearfully and wonderfully made. (Psalm 139:13-16)
There is nothing more important than beauty, though. It’s what defines my worth. When I died for you, there was nothing in Me that was attractive, but it was the most important event of history. (Isaiah 53:2-5)
Maybe I should give my body away to guys. Then someone will really love me. Do you have any idea how precious your body is? You are My creation, My precious treasure. Honor yourself, and your body, as My treasure. (1 Corinthians 6:15-20)
Why would I do that? There’s no point to life. What am I even here for? I have a plan and purpose for your life, and good things in store. You will discover that purpose as you get to know Me. (Jeremiah 29:11-13)
I have a hard time believing that. I feel worthless. You are the apple of My eye. (Psalm 17:8, Zechariah 2:8) No one and nothing can snatch you out of My hand. (John 10:29)
But I still feel like I’ll be worthy if I make myself good enough. I loved you even while you were My enemy. (Romans 5:6-11) Your best deeds — all your self-made “good-enough-ness” — are like filthy rags. (Isaiah 64:6, Romans 3:21-26) You cannot earn My love, but I’ve given it freely. It’s not how good you are that makes you worthy; it’s the fact that when you accept My free gift of salvation, you were covered in My blood and clothed in My righteousness. (1 Corinthians 1:30-31)
But surely you’ll love me more if I do all the right things. I can’t make a mistake, because then you’ll stop loving me. Why can’t I seem to get it right? Why do I keep making mistakes? Daughter, you are like an earthen vessel, a clay pot. You are fragile, easily breakable, human. But I have called you in that very condition because My weakness is greater than your strength. In your weakness, I am strong for you, and all glory goes to Me. (1 Corinthians 1:25, 2 Corinthians 4:7) I have called you to live a life that’s set apart, but you need Me for that. And it won’t happen overnight. (2 Peter 1:2-7, Philippians 3:12-14) Nothing can separate you from My love, not even your failures. I am for you, so not even your own self-condemnation can stand against you. (Romans 8:31-39)
God, could this be true? Do you really care? Do you really see me? I see every hair on your head (Luke 12:7), and I see every moment of your life. When you sit and when you rise, I am with you forever. (Psalm 139:1-12)

*As written by Tiffany Dawn for SAGE Ministry’s 2014 Conference Magazine.*

One thought on “Part 5: The Divine Exchange

Leave a Reply

