Just Do It Part 3: What’s In Your Hands?

[Part three of a series repost called “Just Do It” from this summer’s daily devos.]

I’m SO excited about my next book called: “Boycrazy: And how I ended up single and mostly sane.” It’s going to be awesome (if I do say so myself)!!

ImageBut I’m not-so-excited about the writing process. Since coming home from tour, my creative juices have shriveled right up. I’ve started looking on Craigslist for a time machine: skip the writing, go straight to book release party!

There have been many moments of life I’ve wanted to skip. 

Plane rides. Then I could arrive straight to my vacation destination. (Of course when I returned home, I would’ve traded anything to be back on the horrible plane to relive all the wonderful memories.)

Singleness. How awesome would it be to wake up on your wedding day? …Or not so much. Man, look at all the adventures I would’ve missed, even just this year!

Sometimes we want the fulfillment of the promise, the epitome of the dream, the so-called “big things” instead of the mundane moments. But you can’t have one without the other.

While in Texas, I had the opportunity to pick Jan Greenwood’s brain (pastor of Gateway’s women’s ministry). She sat down across from me (in the cutest patterned skinny jeans ever) (seriously, I could never pull them off) and poured life, ministry, and wisdom into me.

The one piece of wisdom that stands out the most is this:

“If you do what He’s put in your hands to do, you cannot miss your destiny.”

Sounds like Ecclesiastes 9:10: “Whatever your hand finds to do, do it with your might…”

Sometimes we make it so complicated. Finding our destiny becomes an overwhelming mystery.

Other times we think we have to do something big. We despise the day of small things, as Zechariah 4:10 puts it. We wait for something huge and magical to do, instead of living in our everyday reality, being faithful in the little things.

Just because it doesn’t seem “big,” doesn’t mean it’s unimportant.

While working at Nazareth College, I often wished I could be traveling and speaking more often. However, I thank God that He helped me truly enjoy every moment of that job. And guess what…through that job I gained the skills I needed to travel and speak full-time! That’s where I learned how to use iMovie, be assertive, design websites (minimally), and so on! If I had skipped the “day of small things,” I would not have been prepared for this ministry.

What has He put in your hands? Is it school? Work? Ministry? Mothering? What has He given you to do right now?

Sometimes all God wants us to do in this moment is what He’s already put in our hands and in our hearts.

Yesterday morning I started working on a schedule. Even though I feel uninspired, I’m setting aside two hours each morning of scheduled writing time to work on this “Boy Talk” book. That’s what it takes for me to be faithful in the little things so that one day I can be trusted with the big things.

If we are faithful with the seemingly small, insignificant things, we cannot miss our destiny.

Leave a Reply

