Crutchin’ Around Canada

It’s been six years since I’ve traveled abroad. SIX. YEARS. Talk about claustrophobia!

The solution?

Let’s go to Canada!

Breakin' out the passport at border patrol!

Breakin’ out the passport at border patrol!

My bestie Traci agreed to go with me, so I dug out my passport and we took a day trip to Niagara Falls — just over the border to Canada. I know, I know, I’ve lived 1.5 hours away for the past eight years, but haven’t been to the falls since I was a little kid, and could hardly remember what they looked like!

Can I tell you that I did a little jig in the driver’s seat as we approached border patrol? I could hardly contain my excitement!

To be honest, we spent most of the day at the fashion outlets (of course), and by the time we left my foot was really hurting. (The hardest part of a sprain healing is thinking you’re good to go and then overdoing it.) So when we got to the falls, I pulled out my crutches and hobbled up and down the hilly sidewalks.

Crutchin' around Canada

Crutchin’ around Canada

Let me tell you, there’s nothing quite like crutches to start a conversation. It’s like walking with a dog; everyone stops to talk. (I should use crutches all the time.) And I LOVED the look on people’s faces when they heard the story: I fell off the curb while walking my dog. Priceless.

What a fun weekend. Getting another stamp on my passport (Mexico, Costa Rica, China, Australia, New Zealand, and now…..Canada). Venturing abroad for the day. Seeing one of the seven wonders of the world.

And doing it all on crutches.

Leave a Reply

