Born to Stand Out

“Why are you trying so hard to fit in when you were born to stand out?”

– Quote from “What a Girl Wants”

This morning I’m reminded of that quote.

Sometimes I feel like a misfit, like someone who never truly belongs anywhere, never fits in like other people. Someone who doesn’t act, talk, or think like the people around her. Someone built like an oddly-shaped puzzle piece.

Then I look up.

In my heavenly Father’s eyes I see a different perspective. I see someone who was created to live a different kind of life. Someone supposed to show another way to walk, rather than blend in with the crowd. A child of the King meant to make a statement of heaven on earth, rather than dress in metaphorical camouflage.

I see someone who wasn’t born to fit in, but to stand out. 

Leave a Reply

