Book Review: Willing to Walk on Water

Caroline Barnett. Wow. You have outdone yourself.

I just finished reading “Willing to Walk on Water” by Caroline Barnett, who pastors the LA Dream Center with her husband Matthew.

willing-to-walk-on-water-by-caroline-barnettWhat is the Dream Center?

For those of you who haven’t heard of the Dream Center (I hadn’t until this year), it’s an incredible ministry based out of LA, but with other centers opening across the country.

It reaches out to people in need, from victims of sex trafficking to people in poverty.

It provides for and keeps families together that would otherwise have the children removed from the home because the parents can’t afford the basic necessities of life.

It houses single moms.

And so on and so on. Mind blowing.

(For an author Q&A, click here.)

So what’s this book?

Caroline’s book is all about taking that step of faith to make a difference in our world.

This was a book I didn’t want to put down. Inspiring, challenging, and fun to read – a winning combo.

(To read the first chapter, click here.)

But I want to share with you just two things that stuck with me the most from this book.

#1: Why are we allowing this to happen?

In Caroline’s opening chapter, she tells a story of when she first saw an Invisible Children‘s documentary, and wrestled with God, asking, “How could you allow these awful things to happen?” That night, she writes, He whispered this to her heart:

“Caroline, I sent My Son, Jesus, to pay for the sin of what you just saw so that there would be hope for redemption. I sent My Son, Jesus, to pay for the healing that will need to take place. In My Word I have promised to provide and to protect. I have done and given you everything you need to change it. So, Caroline, why are you allowing this to happen?” (p. 12)

Those words shook me to the core.

As she said, “His words weren’t shaming or condemning. They overflowed with love.”

And with a call to arise.

I have never looked at injustice in the world in this way. Yet now all I can ask myself is, “Why am I, why are we, allowing this to happen?”

il_570xN.377535706_ozpg#2: It would take less than one percent.

The other thing that stuck with me was this statistic:

“No matter how daunting the amount of suffering is in this world, or the number of people who are in need, we in the Christian army are not outnumbered. I believe the biggest inustice is that although these problems would be easy for us to fix, we haven’t yet done so. I think about the statistic I mentioned earlier – 18.5 million orphaned children around the world. With over two billion believers in the global community, it would take less than one percent of willing Christians to adopt these kids and every orphan would have a home.” (p. 214)

Less than one percent? That’s it?

Everything I can do makes a difference.

Sometimes I feel like the little things I can do, don’t make a difference. This book reminded me that I’m not alone. I’m part of a body. Every individual makes a difference, but the body as a whole, if we would arise, could change the world.

I walked away from this book thinking: It’s time to stand up and make a difference. Nothing I can give is too small.

*Tyndale House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book to review.*

Leave a Reply

