Autumn Leaves

ImageI’m not usually an observant person. A friend had to point out to me that the leaves were changing color, and that’s pretty sad when you’re in upstate New York. But for whatever reason, the beauty of the leaves has been tugging at my heart lately.

On Thursday as I was driving up I-490, I just started tearing up as I looked at the Autumn leaves, because their beauty came from their letting go, their “dying,” their surrender. And I was just thinking back on every time I’ve had to “die to myself,” or part of me has been broken…those are the moments that God has redeemed, the moments that have transformed into the most glorious beauty. This whole Coffeehouse Tour was birthed from the darkest season of my life, and look how God has turned it into beauty! And the more I surrender, the more I “die to self” and give my entire life to Him, the more beautiful He will make this. I was so in awe of Him as I looked at the leaves changing color.

As I was driving down to Alfred University, where I was speaking on Friday night (so much fun! what a great group!), I kept pulling over to the side of the road to take pictures of the leaves. I was so moved by the beauty of God’s creation, by the kind of beauty that pulls your eyes heavenward. I was thinking – I want my life to be that kind of beauty; not the kind of beauty that pulls your eyes to me, but the kind of glory that speaks of heaven. And that kind of beauty only comes from surrendering my all to Him, letting go, like the leaves are letting go of the branches, so I can fall into Him.

“…it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.” (Galatians 2:20)

Leave a Reply

