Trusting Him Part I: He reigns

I’m learning that when I have a hard time trusting God,

it’s because I’ve forgotten who He is.

Last night I had a minor freak out. Okay, so a medium freak out. My heart was pounding, mind stressing…I could tell I was starting to panic. I didn’t know what I was going to do in a certain situation. I felt like I had to know what to do, but I didn’t. It was a situation outside of my control, even though I felt like I should be able to control it.

I was thinking about watching a TV show to try and calm down, but realized what I really needed and craved was to come close to my heavenly Father. I went to the piano and started playing one of my favorite worship songs:

God I look to You, I won’t be overwhelmed

Give me vision to see things like You do

God I look to You, You’re where my help comes from

Give me wisdom, You know just what to do

He knows. I just need to see this situation through His perspective. I need His heavenly vision. Because compared to all He is, my situation is small potatoes. It’s nothing compared to everything He has in store.

But what got me more than anything was the bridge. It just says, over and over:

Hallelujah, our God reigns

Hallelujah, our God reigns

Hallelujah, our God reigns, forever and always, hallelujah

He reigns. How did I forget that? He is God of the universe. He owns everything in this world and He holds my heart in His hands. He knows, He’s faithful, and HE REIGNS. He’s God. Supreme. Have I forgotten what that means?

I just had to remember who He was and remind my soul to worship and rejoice in Him, and in all He is. There’s nothing I can do about this situation, but He holds it in His hands. And I trust Him. He’s my good Father who delights in me. And He reigns.

Leave a Reply

