How can I fight society’s expectations…?

I often hear the question, or ask it myself: How can I help change society’s expectations on women? How can I make a difference in the lives of the young men and women around me – helping them grow into confidence regardless of what they look like? How do we fight the permeating lies of our culture that beauty and thinness determine our value as women?

While reading through a binder of information for new interns at Strong Hospital, I came across this handout from the National Eating Disorders Association. It poignantly expresses how to do this – for parents, friends, family, fathers, and therapists. It’s a must read – so good!!

50 Ways to Lose the 3 Ds:

Dieting, Drive for Thinness, and Body Dissatisfaction

by Paula Levine, PhD; National Eating Disorders Association (c) 2005

Leave a Reply

