Getting over myself part 2

I feel like I’m always talking about some book I’m reading, but I just have to mention this one. Going off of last night’s post, I wanted to add a few more sentences about getting over myself. I’m reading this book called “Exodus” by Leon Uris, which is written like a novel but is a true story about the founding of the nation of Israel in 1900s. My version of it is this huge book that seriously looks like a Bible cause it’s so thick, with a plain cover that looks scholastically daunting, and yet – just as my mom warned me – I cannot put it down! And what strikes me over and over is how much the Jews believed in fighting for and creating this nation; how much they wanted it and would not let anything stop them, even in the face of insurmountable odds. It is amazing, the way they gave their lives for forming their country.

Perhaps it’s nothing new; perhaps we have seen that in the American Revolution and Civil War and others that have been fought for values people hold dearer than life itself. But it makes me look a little harder at my own life and wonder if I would fight for my faith like that. If I could stand to the death because I hold my faith in the lover of my soul dearer than life and comfort and food.

Just like I did yesterday, I have to ask myself again, “How would my life look if I had the kind of conviction the Jewish people have shown? How would my life look differently if I truly lived it all for Him; not for me? If I ran with the perseverance Paul spoke of in 1 Cor. 9, if I counted all as loss for the sake of knowing Him, and for the glory of His name?” I’m being more and more convicted that I need to set out on a journey to find in my daily living the answer to that question.

Leave a Reply

